This agreement commenced in 2022. It is a four-year agreement (2022-2025).

Institutions participating in the SANLiC/Wiley agreement have access to over 1,400 subscription-based journal titles published in the Wiley Online Library. Affiliated authors can also publish in Wiley’s hybrid journals without paying article processing charges (APCs). In years two to four (2023-2025) of the agreement affiliated authors will be able to publish in all Wiley gold open access and Hindawi journals without paying APCs. 

There is more information for authors here.

Participating institutions

  • Agricultural Research Council
  • Cape Peninsula University of Technology
  • Council for Scientific and Industrial Research
  • Durban University of Technology
  • Mangosuthu University of Technology
  • Nelson Mandela University
  • North-West University
  • Rhodes University
  • Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University
  • Sol Plaatje University
  • Stellenbosch University
  • Tshwane University of Technology
  • University of Botswana
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Fort Hare
  • University of Johannesburg
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • University of Namibia
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of South Africa
  • University of the Free State
  • University of the Western Cape
  • University of the Witwatersrand
  • University of Venda
  • University of Zululand
  • Vaal University of Technology
  • Walter Sisulu University

Number of included articles

There is a cap on the number of articles that can be published open access and free of any transactional article processing charges (APCs) in hybrid journals by authors affiliated to participating institutions. For the four years of the agreement the article entitlements are:

  • 2022: 823
  • 2023: 1,029
  • 2024: 1,338
  • 2025: 1,806

The entitlements are shared across the consortium and are allocated on a first come, first served basis.